Sharing documents and folders with colleagues or others in Google Drive is simple. Shared documents and folders work excellently as a collaboration platform for e.g. a team or a working group.
NOTE: If you share a folder, all documents in the folder will have the same sharing settings. This is a good solution if you want to share many documents with the same group of people, but be careful not to give people access to a folder where they should only be able to see some of the content. Then it is better to share the individual documents.
You start by creating the documents or folder you want to share.
You now have the following options:
You can share with selected users in the top section of the sharing window
Enter the name of the person you want to share with. You can serch for all UCL staff and students directly. Once you found what you are looking for, click to select them. You can add as many people as you want one at a time.
If you have created a Google Group with selected people, you can share with all members at once. Read here how. However, if you want them to have different rights (for example, some can see while others can edit), you must add them one at a time.
Now select which rights the users should have in the drop-down menu on the right
You have 3 options:
1. Viewer: The user can only view and download the content
2. Commenter: The user can add comments to the content
3. Editor: The user can edit the content on an equal footing with you
There are additional settings hidden behind the gear icon in the right corner
If you click on the gear, you will get the following options:
Both options are selected by default, but you have the option to remove editors' ability to change the sharing settings or to stop readers and users with comment access from downloading, printing, or copying content.
Once you have selected permissions, you can choose to add a message to the people you share the document with. The message is displayed in the email that users automatically receive with information that you have shared something with them.
When you are ready, tap Send to complete and save the share and notify users that you have shared something with them.